Who we are

Our Board

Graeme Adams

Non-executive Chairperson, Independent

Appointed: Chairman in Dec 2010


Graeme Adams has over 35 years insurance experience, including four years as Head of CTP personal injury insurance at IAG. He has extensive experience in both short tail and long tail insurance, including portfolio management and claims management.

His career highlights include leading NRMA’s entry into Victoria, leading IAG into Asia with the purchase of companies in Thailand and China, and taking a frontline role with the insurance industry’s response to cover flood. Graeme now consults to industry leaders as Principal at Finity Consulting.

Other directorships and positions

Graeme has served on many insurance industry committees and Boards including Chair of Insurance Statistics Australia and Chair of Motor Accident Insurance Standing Committee. He is Director of Finity Consulting and a past Board member of the Motor Accident Insurers Council and Safety Insurance Thailand.

William O’Reilly

Non-executive, Nominee for EML

Appointed: Director in Feb 2007


As well as Hospitality Employers Mutual Director, William O’Reilly serves as Chairman for our joint venture partner, EML. Admitted to the Supreme Court of New South Wales as a barrister in 1988 and a general dental practitioner, William has been made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his “significant service to dentistry, particularly through leadership roles with professional associations, to education, and as a practitioner.” William was previously a Director of Manchester Unity Australia for five years and its independent elected Chairman for four years.

Other directorships and positions

William is a past Director of Bupa Dental Corporation, President and Professional Officer of the Dental Council of NSW, and assists the Motor Accident Authority of New South Wales in relation to dental injuries from motor accidents.

He was a Member of the National Australia Bank’s nabhealth National Advisory Council, Member of the Medical Advisory Panel for BUPA MBF Australia, and a Director of the Motor Neurone Disease Association of Australia as well as a Non-Executive Director on several other Boards.

Paul Baker


Appointed: Director in 2018


As well as Hospitality Employers Mutual Director, Paul Baker serves as Director to joint venture partner, EML.

Paul has experience in the areas of insurance, reinsurance, commercial and administrative law, risk management, business management and corporate governance. He is a practising lawyer of almost 30 years and has been Managing Director of Meridian Lawyers since 2004 a law firm which he established and has since grown to more than 140 staff.

Other directorships and positions

Paul has served as the legal member of the Consumer Medicines Information Commonwealth Task Force and South Eastern Sydney Area Health Service Ethics Committee.

He was also a partner of Ebsworth and Ebsworth Lawyers and a former Director of Guild Accountants.

Cameron McCullagh


B. Bus
Appointed: Director in Feb 2007


Cameron has over 30 years in financial management and over 20 years insurance management experience. He is Managing Director of Consolidated Operations Group Limited (ASX code: COG) and Chairman of A.S. White Global Pty Limited.

Other directorships and positions

Cameron was Chief Executive Officer of Employers Mutual Limited from 2001 to 2009 and it was during this tenure that Hospitality Employers Mutual was established.

As Chief Operating Officer of insurance broking accumulator, Steadfast Group Limited, 2012 – 2014, Cameron took operational responsibility for its successful listing on the ASX.

Peter Crawford

Non-executive Director, Nominee for AHA

BA, Dip. FM, SA Fin, CTA, FCA
Appointed: Director in February 2014


Peter Crawford is a Chartered Accountant, Chartered Tax Adviser, Registered Company Auditor and Registered Tax Agent. During his 40 years plus as an accountant he has provided extensive taxation, accounting and financial advice to the hospitality industry, NSW.

He is the Senior Partner of VJ Ryan & Co and a Director of VJ Ryan & Co Services Pty Limited and VJ Ryan Securities Limited.

Other directorships and positions

Peter is also Director and Compliance Officer of a cash management trust, dealing with regulatory compliance and governance.

Lucy Flemming

Non-executive, Independent

B.Bus (Acc), CPA, GAICD
Appointed: Director in February 2015


Lucy Flemming has 30 years’ experience in executive positions in accounting, business, finance, investment and retail across the public and private sectors.

She is Managing Director/CEO of Coal Services Pty Limited, Coal Mines Insurance Pty Ltd and Mines Rescue Pty Limited. Under her leadership, Coal Services has worked closely with industry to build a robust specialist health and safety scheme that has seen injury rates and premiums at their lowest levels.

Other directorships and positions

Lucy spent seven years at WorkCover NSW where she managed various facets of workers compensation insurance in NSW. Her last three years were as Director of Regulatory and Financial Services.

Dr George Peponis

Non-executive Director, Nominee for ClubsNSW

Appointed: May 2020


Dr Peponis currently serves as the Chair of ClubsNSW, having been elected as a Director of same at the 2017 AGM. He is the current Chair of Clubkeno Holdings elected August 2019 and Vice President of Clubs Australia elected in September 2019. Since 2010 and 2012 Dr Peponis holds current roles as Director and Chair of the NSW Rugby League.

Dr Peponis graduated from the University of NSW with a Bachelor of Medicine and a Bachelor of Surgery in 1976 and has since worked as a general medical practitioner. In 2019 Dr Peponis graduated from the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Other directorships and positions

Dr Peponis has an extensive rugby league career having played and captained the Bulldogs Football Team and Australian Rugby League Team. He has served in Director and Chair roles and is currently a life member of both the Bulldogs Football Club and Canterbury League Club . From 2003 to 2018, Dr Peponis was a Director of Canterbury League Club and Chair of the club from 2010 to 2018. From 2002 to 2010 he was the Chair of the Bulldogs Football Club. In 2017, he was the Chair of the Rugby League World Cup. For his services to rugby league Dr Peponis received the Medal of the Order of Australia.